Writing from Down Under


There was a time when I wanted to live in a house with a huge kitchen, a sprawling garden, and a white bathroom.  The kitchen had to have an island for chopping and kneading.  The garden had to have lemon trees. And the bathroom had to have a tub.  Those were not possible when I was still in the Philippines.  At least, they did not seem to be.

Today I woke up and I realised that I AM living in such a house.  I am staying for a while with my sister and her family in Sydney, Australia.  The story of how I got here, I wrote about already in another blog.  Read about it here.

It is not easy for me to write about things that make me happy.  They sound corny, or too good to be true.  But even if you pinch me now you will see that all these is true.

I walk most days in disbelief.  I hear the sounds of different birds and actually see them from the lounge of this house, fluttering about from tree to beautiful tree.  This is a bird-watchers’ paradise.  I am not sure if they all get here, but I tried looking up the bird list in Lane Cove and saw this link.  There are about 109 species of birds spotted in the national park! Maybe I can spend part of my year identifying those birds.

And at night, I can get to know the stars of the southern hemisphere, because they are visible from the balcony, even the garden.  Perhaps I should go to the garden before autumn fully is upon us.  Besides, winter’s coming!

I have so many plans this year, but primarily I will slow down; yes, even from the planning and executing.

There ought to be more blogging and writing as well.  I need inspiration for that.  Hopefully the birds and the trees will work their magic.

Aside

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. christianadobodamus
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 14:21:03

    Hmmm.. I never actually stopped to look at the birds or the stars. My goodness. Wow. Thank you for this ate Ella!

    Reply

  2. galadriella
    Apr 18, 2013 @ 15:45:04

    You’re welcome.🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

